Access Keys:

Cappataggle National School, Ballinasloe, Co. Galway

School History

Cappataggle N.S. was completed in the summer of 1979 and opened to receive pupils on September 1st of that year. The enrolment at that time was 103. It was then a four teacher school, an amalgamation of the old two-teacher schools in Cappataggle and Killalaghton. Prior to this, in 1967, the school at Killagh was amalgamated with Cappataggle due to declining numbers and in accordance with Dept. of Education policy at the time. In effect, therefore, Cappataggle N.S. replaced three two-teacher schools in the parish.

The Chairperson of the Board of Management at that time was V. Rev. A. Cummins P.P and the teaching staff comprised Mr James Dooley, Principal, Michael Walsh, Privileged Assistant, Ita O’ Connor and Maureen Monahan.
The school has since been refurbished and extended.  This project was completed in 2011 and we now have a state of the art school.